Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/cusjc/public_html/travers/wp-content/themes/simplicity/functions/admin-hooks.php on line 160

Travers Debates 2014


The debaters in full flood as caught by MediaStyle

The 2014 Travers Debates – Helping Sustain the Travers Fellowship

A standing room only crowd and outstanding debaters combined to make the third Travers Debates night a huge success.

Our debaters on October 21, 2014 made us laugh and think. Bravo and well done to the Hon. Lisa Raitt, Elizabeth May, Tom Clark, Don Martin, and Andrew Cohen and Paul Wells for their contributions. It made for an entertaining and thoughtful evening enjoyed by both our enthusiastic audience at Ottawa`s National Arts Centre, and on Twitter where we were trending nationally during the evening.

Our debate officials once again sparkled in the performance of their duties. Three cheers for the Hon. Bob Rae, debate moderator; Rosie Barton, mistress of ceremonies; Kevin Page, our official timekeeper; and Honourary Co-chairs John Manley and Peter Kent for their wit, enthusiasm – and for being such good sports.

To CIBC, our presenting sponsor, and our other supporters, huge thanks. Without you the evening would not have been possible.

Funds raised over the three Travers Debates nights have contributed $155,000 to the R. James Travers Foreign Corresponding Fellowship, reflecting the importance Jim attached to his six years reporting from Africa and the Middle East. It honours his legacy as a tireless champion for giving Canadians first-hand, in-depth coverage of stories beyond their borders.

The evening was recorded courtesy of CPAC. The telecast is available from their video archives at http://www.cpac.ca/eng/videos